Wendy

“Fucking hell!” I muttered, looking at my watch.

A nearby stranger raised his eyebrow. “Strong language for a lady, dear!” he said rebukingly.

“Fuck ladies,” I said shortly, and turned back to my worrying.

Let’s see, I thought. Five hours to get there, three days to find out where the hell he’d gotten himself shacked up… what were the chances that he’d be alive when I got there?

Drug-mazed, he’d called me a couple of hours ago.

“Wen, sweetie, ya gotta help me – the Damn Yankees have my balls in the blender and they’re gonna push the button!” He’d gone on to give me enough information about his doomed attempt to do them out of a shittily small amount of crack and money that I was convinced – this wasn’t a paranoid fantasy. Pete had gotten himself into a world of trouble. Again.

Believe it or not, I’m not the knight-in-shining-armour type. Or maiden-in-shining-armour, for that matter. People get themselves into trouble, and they can damn well get themselves out, in my opinion. Pete was the only person I could never turn away, though. I guess that’s what happens when someone saves your life. No wonder the Chinese or someone used to have a tradition that if someone saved your life, you were bound to their service for the rest of your life. Just a formal acknowledgement of a universal truth. My life – such as it was – belonged to Pete. Like it or not.

9 Comments

  1. Oooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!
    I’m hooked!
    *in Oliver Twist style *
    More please!!!!!!

  2. Wowsers, Jayne – that was fast! ๐Ÿ˜€

    You know how this story came about? The first sentence was bouncing round in my head all morning (not just the first couple of words ๐Ÿ˜› ). I finally gave up and typed it… lo and behold, a story emerged. My Muse is a stubborn wench.

  3. […] really my usual material, eh? So if it sounds interesting, wander over to Nomesque Fiction to read Wendy. It’s Part 1 of what could be a lonnnnnng series. You know what I’m […]

  4. A writer’s gotta give in to that muse, Naomi ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. I love it.

  6. What a riveting beginning! It has a very strong voice, too. I can imagine what Wendy looks like just from the voice. My only suggestion: when writing dialogue, unless how it’s articulated is not completely obvious from what is said, leave off the adverb descriptives like “rebukingly” or “shortly.” It’s more interesting to describe behavior to reflect a character’s emotional state. I’ll be back for more…..(smile)

  7. ccyager – thanks for the feedback! Mmm… think you’ve got a good point there. I read too much 19th-century fiction… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Feral Beast – I’m glad you liked it!

    Jayne – yup, or she chucks a temper tantrum and wanders off. Hrm, sounds like me ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. Loike it.

    Keep it coming.

  9. Promising start! ๐Ÿ˜€

    The only thing I have to wonder is why Wendy continues to feel indebted if she saves his life or him from trouble all of the time. Is it really just being in debt that she feels, I wonder? O_o

    I’ll certainly find out though! -goes on to read next story-


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

