Lucky Me – Caduceus Epilogue

Seven's Tattoo

By Brian A. Lynch

It’s not every day you’re late to work.

Well, sometimes it is. But today is different. Today’s his first day.

Tre’s coming with me, and he’s giving the EMT thing a shot. I’ve been doing it for a couple of months now; ever since the accident, I’ve been refreshing what I know about medicine. Since I never went to med school, college, high school – I could do it the long way, but it’d take years – I’ve volunteered as an EMT.  I can help people, and I can make sure that they get the lucky break they need. I can’t be a doctor, but I can help.

I got another letter from Goh today. Tre knows Goh dropped by that day in the hospital – he’s just glad another one of us is alive. Goh’s working as a bodyguard for some short bald business guy. I always get a smile whenever he describes the guy, and how red his entire head gets when he gets angry. Goh sent a picture with the last one – he looks a bald weasel. His words, not mine. But I like calling him that, anyway. Goh’s coming down for Christmas – that’s a month or two from now. We’re the only family we’ve got, anyway. I’m getting him a stuffed bulldog.

I look at the calendar. Matt’s coming back on Tuesday. Only three more days. I still remember the date he took me on after the accident; we just goofed around, got some pie at a diner, and ended up making out with blueberry breath in the parking lot. He’s not bright, but his heart’s in the right place, he’s romantic, and he’s gorgeous. That’s got to compensate for something.

Right next to the calendar, the clock. I was supposed to be there ten minutes ago. Tre’s waiting downstairs, but I can’t find it. Where, where, where, where… A-ha!

I grab my EMT jacket from the closet, and pull it on while I leap down the stairs. I wave at Polly and Adam as I rush out the front door. Tre’s there, in his blue pick-up truck, and I run to the passenger’s side to hop in.

I’m gonna be late and it’s all your damn fault! He grumbles. He looks good in the jacket.

Don’t worry, you’ll save some cute girl’s life and it’ll all be worth it, I tell him.

I’m driving – you’re doing the saving, not me. He puts the importance back in my hands, and he’s right.

As we pull out of the driveway, I tell him, Don’t worry, I’ll make sure you get to pull her into the hospital.

He smiles. Crafty. I like it.

I’m good like that. I tell him.

Besides, I’m feeling optimistic. I know there are good days and bad days, but I think this is one of those good ones, where everybody goes home happy and nobody has to die.

We drive off down the dirt road to the town, and head towards the Ambulance Corps building. In the distance, I see the ambulances, our crew, and I think again about how lucky I am to have the chance to do this, and how everything I’ve done’s given me another chance.

Lucky me, I think.

Lucky me!

Brian A. Lynch is a 23-year old writer from Pennsylvania. In his spare time, he enjoys reading comics, taking walks, and imagining what vampires would be like with Pennsylvanian accents.
1 Comment

  1. what a good read! thanks naomi for putting this up… and brian – more!! 🙂


Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

