Mary’s Star

“Life is never simple, child.”

Who’d said that?

Mary could remember the words and her disbelieving dismissal of them, because life had been very simple. But she couldn’t, for the life of her, remember who’d said them. Let alone why. She concentrated, suddenly offended that her own memory would disregard her desire – and the memory slipped away.

The angel stood in front of her, smiling gently.

“You are God’s chosen vessel, lass – and I am his chosen messenger.”

“You… want to lie with me?”

“I must.”

“I need a sign,” she said, grasping at a straw from her childhood education.

The angel started to glow a deep, calming blue, like the colour of the clear sky on a hot summer’s day, when absolutely nothing can go wrong.

“No – something not related to you,” she said, blushing.

He sighed, and smiled.

“Don’t you know that I have the power to produce any sign you might ask?” he asked gently.

“Can you move the stars?”

He frowned,surprised.

“I can’t,” he admitted.

“A new star in the sky, to herald the conception of the messiah, then,” she said, and bit her lip, scared at her bravery.

He grimaced, but nodded.

“A new star,” he said and laughed, “I shall convey your request to the Almighty, lass.”

4 Comments

  1. Interesting concept.

    I was a bit confused here though:

    Who’d said that?
    Mary could remember the words and her disbelieving dismissal of them, because life had been very simp…

    It seems as if she was remembering it, yet it was in present tense it seemed as well. I wasn’t sure if she was remembering the event, or remembering something else during the time.

    VERY interesting though. I liked the bit about the star.

    • Mmmm…. I can see your point, Sorrel. I’ll ponder it a bit, see if I can come up with a better way to do the flashback.

  2. oh! That was lovely! Nicely done.


Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

